Video content: Intro to AudioUnit Programming

Here is a series of short videos introducing the basics of Audiounit plugin programming. It is geared toward the novice, but it should be useful to the experienced programmer who wants a quick overview of the AudioUnit standard.  Basically, I created a project, annotated the code and walk through it line by line on the video.  I am by no means an expert and all the info might not be up to date, but there is a lack of this type of resource around, so here ya go.

A few sections got garbled in iMovie… whaddayawant from me.  The videos range from 3 minutes to 25 minutes, with the UI section being the longest.

The project template that corresponds to the video can be downloaded from here: http://www.solamors.com/PPPPPPPP.zip

(UPDATE: Since I wrote this blog, I have made a ‘new file template’ audio unit, so you don’t have to do a lot of the setup with the search and replace stuff I have in the first few videos.  You can grab that template here and install it… it makes life much easier: AUDIO UNIT TEMPLATE )

There is usage info in the readme file, as well as in the first video in the series.

Part 1: Setting up XCode

Part 2: AudioUnit basics

Part 3: DSP and Build

Part 4: Custom Cocoa GUI

Part 5: Testing and Profiling

About alexkenis

Guitarist, philosopher, tinkerer

3 comments

  1. Anders Östlin

    Wonderful!
    This was EXACTLY what I was searching for. I was going to pick up some AU coding again but I couldn’t get an AU to work in newer Xcode versions since Apple removed their template
    Thank you very much.

  2. No problem. I know the vids are basic, but hopefully they are helpful. I was in the process of hacking together a true template that is compatible with the XCode5+ format a while back, but I got sidetracked by the hope that they would re-introduce AU templates with XCode6… which did not happen, so if I get back o that in the future I’ll post it here on the blog.

  3. I’m really interested in AU and audio programming on Mac and iOS. It’s awkward that the setup is so difficult. This blog is really useful. If you manage to get the templates working in XCode6 that would be a great help to have access to.

    I’m not sure how they expect people to know the ins and outs of the entire history of AudioUnits in the last 5 versions of OSX before they write any DSP.

Leave a Reply

